There’s a lot of confusion out there when it comes to sweets and chocolate – and whether or not they’re halal! While it may not seem obvious that sweet treats contain animal products, for example, it’s always good to be wary.
For example, are M&Ms halal or haram? I’ve done the research for you – and here’s what I’ve found.
So, are M&Ms halal?
Sadly, no – M&Ms are haram. While they may seem like innocent pieces of sugary chocolate, they contain trace amounts of animal products.
Mars, the manufacturer of M&Ms in the UK, states that it’s additives that make these sweets haram. The company hasn’t named any specific ingredients – but they confirm it’s trace amounts.
You’ll also find that haram ingredients may not be listed on M&Ms packets. Don’t be tempted! Mars states that potentially haram ingredients may find their way into M&Ms production in such small amounts, they’re not eligible for listing.
Regardless of whether or not haram additives or trace animal products make their way into your chocolate, it’s still a wise idea to avoid British M&Ms as a practising Muslim. Sorry!
Outside of the UK, you may be in luck. Research suggests that there may be some M&Ms products that are certified halal, and will be branded as such on their packaging. Otherwise – don’t take the risk.
What’s in M&Ms that’s haram?
It’s not clear which additives or ingredients may make M&Ms haram. However, there’s some speculation over whether or not they contain cochineal or carmine. This produce is otherwise known as E120, and it refers to crushed beetle used as shell colourings for certain types of sweets and chocolates. At this time, E120 doesn’t seem to be listed as an official M&Ms ingredient, but it’s a common sight on other sweet wrappers!
While we may not know if M&Ms are truly halal – or what makes them haram – caution is always advised. Mars outright states that you should avoid eating any of their M&Ms line – chocolate, peanut, crispy or otherwise – if you’re following Sharia guidance.