Wagamama has taken over the UK high street by storm! Its popular take on Japanese dishes has rooted the brand as a go-to restaurant. But, there’s still a lot of confusion over its status for Muslim foodies.
Is Wagamama halal or haram? Is there a way to enjoy Wagamama while following Islamic law? Keep reading, and I’ll provide you with the answer.
Unfortunately, Wagamama is not halal. There’s no evidence to suggest that Wagamama is halal – meaning caution is advised. In fact, a tweet from Wagamama’s official account in 2014 suggests the brand isn’t halal-certified. That doesn’t seem to have changed as years have progressed.
Though, some Twitter chats may shed some light. Occasionally, Wagamama Twitter agents have suggested that diners check with their servers if they wish to order dishes considered halal. There is an ever-growing vegan menu at Wagamama, too.
However, it’s still worth taking caution. Given that Wagamama doesn’t have official halal status, it may not be safe to try any dishes. Even dining from the vegan menu at Wagamama, you may still find there are ingredients considered haram.
As with Five Guys, the best course of action, unfortunately, is to try an alternative restaurant – sorry!
Can I make halal Wagamama recipes at home?
The great news is, if you’re a whiz in the kitchen, you can create your own ‘Wagamama style’ dishes with halal ingredients at home.
There are plenty of blogs out there offering different takes on Wagamama favourites (with a halal twist). For example, iHijabi offers a delicious recipe for halal king prawn firecracker. While it may not be the same as enjoying a meal at Wagamama, you can at least feel safe knowing you’re eating halal ingredients you’ve picked yourself!
Unfortunately, the menus at Wagamama aren’t halal at the time of writing. However, this may change in the future! In the meantime, why not try enjoying Wagamama-inspired creations with halal ingredients cooking from home?